Our latest guest comments...

Below are some of the lovely reviews we have received from past guests…

M. Paxton (March 2024)

"Amazing weekend break, have zero faults with the host or accommodation, will definitely recommend and revisit"

A. Adair (February 2024)

"Wow! What an amazing place - highly recommend to all! Hosts are super friendly and respond to any queries quickly. We had an amazing weekend celebrating my 50th, with family and friends. Perfect location and great amenities!"

E. Lockhart (December 2023)

"Thank you so much for the attention to detail and information before we visited, the home is absolutely stunning with gorgeous views. The home was very clean and the time and care that Kevin and Leah had made to give us the best stay was incredible. The welcome pack and cake was so thoughtful and the cake was delicious. I would absolutely recommend the home to everyone as it is the perfect retreat in the countryside and near to the beautiful Hexham and Abbey. Thank you so much we had a wonderful time."

P. Hill (December 2023)

"Group of 10 friends in their 30s for stargazing, wild walks and evenings around the fireplace. Fantastic group home. Hosts knew it was for a birthday and provided a surprise birthday cake which was great because my partner forgot to bring one. Well equipped kitchen, was able to comfortably cook a roast with plenty of equipment. Dishwasher makes clear up easy. Generous hamper with drinks and jams and snacks was a lovely touch. Each room w/own bathroom - luxury. Building is well insulated, so do not hear people downstairs from the bedrooms. Underfloor heating kept house warm but not a stuffy. Ample firewood. The outside w/views 360 made for a great entertaining space. There are chickens free roam, you need to dodge the odd bit of chicken Poo to not walk back in the house, but this is a minor inconvenience to how much joy seeing them brings. House is insulated, well enough that you barely hear the rooster who sleeps in late anyway. Would definitely rebook. TY to the hosts."

L. Heath (November 2023)

"One of the most amazing locations you will ever find with incredible views from the top of the Hadrian’s Wall Trail. The house is simply exquisitely designed, full of home comfort, warm and cosy especially in the sunny lounge with the fire burning. Sadly we missed the Northern Lights visible from the house as we were celebrating a wedding but what a place to see them from. Kevin is the perfect host. There if you need him but left us to have the space to ourselves. Lovely welcome pack too."

A. Lawson (November 2023)

"Fabulous property for our family reunion. Very clean and comfortable with everything and more you require."

T. Cochrane (October 2023)

"Kevin & Leah were very helpful & always on hand, nothing was too much trouble & always on hand. The house was more than adequate @ had everything we needed. Cannot rate this property high enough & we will defo be coming back. So thank you Kevin & Leah was a pleasure."

T. Hardcastle (October 2023)

"A fabulous cottage, clean, comfortable with every thing we needed and more to make our stay just perfect. The views were amazing. The hamper and homemade cake a delicious and welcome surprise."

T. Lockhart (September 2023)

"The very best self-catering holiday cottage experience we have had.
Everything has been thought of, we want for nothing.
Special mention must be made of the accessible room. This room sets a standard that all other businesses could learn something from.
Great location, luxurious quality, very well equipped… you owe it to yourself to try Vesta View."

S. McEwan (September 2023)

"It was a fantastic place to stay, every room was modern with a touch of country living. The views of the surrounding area was stunning from the bedrooms and garden area. One thing we all liked as a group of 9 was it was very secluded and quiet. I would return again in a heart beat. I would highly recommend."

S. Scott – Malden (August 2023)

Great location for visiting Hadrian’s Wall.
"Shepherd’s Retreat is in a wonderful location for visiting Hadrian’s Wall and the Roman forts of Vindolanda and Housesteads. The views from the house are beautiful and the house is small but comfortable and in a very peaceful location. The kitchen is well stocked and the owners leave some nice welcome items to greet you. The information given to you in advance is very detailed and helpful".

C. Graham (June 2023)

“Very and kind and welcoming hosts. There were lots of lovely personal touches which made the stay for a birthday very special. Lovely surroundings in the middle of the Northumberland national park, literally on Hadrians Wall. Would definitely recommend this stay.”

E. Gnaulati (June 2023)

"Perfect "bookend" to our three -week vacation in the UK. Great jumping off point to various locations on Hadrian's Wall! Lovely cottage! Loved the chickens too"

V. Hoy (June 2023)

"What an amazing retreat from the hustle bustle of tourism. Beautiful weather (Thanks for including this in the letting!) and fascinating history, walks and countryside. Loves being on the farm - we should have stayed longer! Everything we needed."

S.B. Narayanan (May 2023)

"We had a lovely weekend!!! Lovely house with a fab view, all set to welcome us. Everything was beyond our expectations. Not to forget the friendly / hens/ roosters and cattle. Thank you for the delicious cake and welcome hamper. Definitely will come back and will recommend to others"

D. Horsley (April 2023)

"We had a wonderful few days, the house came equipped with everything needed! Despite the poor weather the BBQ was a touch! Would absolutely return to this property. Everyone slept well it even comes equipped with natural alarm clocks :)"

S. Mckirdy (March 2023)

"Vesta View was a wonderful setting for a family gathering. It was probably the best equipped holiday house we’ve ever stayed in. The setting was beautiful and the hosts Leah and Kevin were friendly and helpful. We would defiantly stay there again Thanks for a relaxing and comfortable stay."

V. Trandeva (March 2023)

"Thank you very much for the lovely welcome pack!

Your place is lovely, we had an amazing time here. You have thought about everything and we did not miss a thing.

Thank you very much Kevin and Leah for making our stay very special!"

 

Alison (March 2023)

"Wonderful stay - would highly recommend

Fantastic location and peaceful surroundings."

J. Parnaby (January 2023)

"We booked this place to get the family together for a belated Christmas celebration. My family and I loved it and I definitely have scored a lot of brownie points for finding and arranging. Place was spotless, facilities excellent and all equipped to a high standard. Area was remotish yet easy to find with the host instructions. Views of sunrise and sunset and everything in between were stunning. Would re-book without hesitation. Thank you."

K. Robertson (January 2023)

"We stayed here for my partners 30th 10 friends together and it was absolutely lovely, beautiful location and stay. Will most definitely be returning 🥳"

V. Frankish (December 2022)

"A great place in a beautiful location, definitely improved by the snow! Kevin & Leah were great hosts and the property had everything we needed for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend this lovely property in a beautiful part of the world."

via Euans Guide Website

"A beautiful spacious house for a family gathering in a lovely location with great views.
I am a wheelchair user and the space was perfect. The wet room was ideal and had everything for someone with limited mobility. The house is surrounded by trees and the garden bird life was amazing. The grandchildren specially loved the chickens in the garden. Leah and Kevin make sure we had everything we needed and they even left us a homemade chocolate cake a lovely touch".

via Accessible Holiday Escapes Website

"Kevin and Leah’s beautiful home is arguably one of the best I have ever stayed in! Spacious bedrooms and bathrooms which were absolutely immaculate. I would highly recommend Carraw to groups of all ages especially families. Carraw is an enchantment within its own right".

via Accessible Holiday Escapes Website

"Such a beautiful house! Well thought out supplies provided for the weekend. Beautiful views and a fantastic log-burner. We even got complimentary homemade chocolate cake and jams. 10/10…we’ll definitely be back".

via Accessible Holiday Escapes Website

"The wheelchair-accessible ground floor room is well thought out with good wet-room facilities. The views are stunning. Had a very relaxing evening sat in the lounge watching the sun cast beautiful shadows over the fells. Perfect".

via Accessible Holiday Escapes Website

"Just back from an amazing stay at Vesta View. Fabulous spacious house which was immaculate and very well equipped to a very high standard, Leah and Kevin have literally thought of everything. Plenty of space to cook and relax together and the bedrooms were lovely, all with en-suite facilities. We are a family group of 10 (3 generations) and the house was perfect for all of us. Would definitely recommend this as an amazing place to stay and the extra bonus is the fabulous view".

via Accessible Holiday Escapes Website

"After many years of experience of holiday homes, we all agreed that Vesta View is the best. The booking process was straightforward and Leah is a kind and helpful host, while also mindful of visitors’ privacy. The house itself is immaculate and all 5 bedrooms boast superb en-suite facilities. We really appreciated the space and the accessibility of the downstairs bedrooms, which made holidaying with an elderly person with disabilities so much easier. The kitchen and utility areas are well equipped and we are already missing those 180 degree views from the lounge windows."